Emilie Black’s FrightFest 2016 Wrap-Up

frightfest-2016Normally I get to see a few films from FrightFest through contacts and much later on when they are finally released through VOD or on disk.  Sometimes I’m lucky enough to manage to see a few in other places such as festivals and conventions.  This year, I got to see 21 of the feature films and I did my best to give each a fair assessment.

Here’s a gathering of all of Cinema Crazed’s coverage for FrightFest 2016.

Another Evil Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/08/29/another-evil-2016-frightfest-2016/

The Evil in Us Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/08/30/the-evil-in-us-2015-frightfest-2016/

Los Parecidos (The Similars) Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/08/30/los-parecidos-the-similars-2015-frightfest-2016/

Monolith Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/08/31/monolith-2016-frightfest-2016/

Blood Feast (2016) Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/08/31/blood-feast-2016-frightfest-2016/

Blood Hunters Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/02/blood-hunters-2016-frightfest-2016/

Beyond the Gates Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/02/beyond-the-gates-2016-frightfest-2016/

Downhill Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/02/downhill-2016-frightfest-2016/

The Creature Below Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/05/the-creature-below-2016-frightfest-2016/

Lost Solace Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/05/lost-solace-2016-frightfest-2016/

Francesca Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/06/francesca-2015-frightfest-2016/

Abattoir Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/06/abattoir-2016-frightfest-2016/

Crow Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/06/crow-2016-frightfest-2016/

The Unraveling Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/06/the-unraveling-2015-frightfest-2016/

The Killing of America Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/07/the-killing-of-america-1981-frightfest-2016/

Knucklebones Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/07/knucklebones-2016-frightfest-2016/

Population Zero Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/13/population-zero-2016-frightfest-2016/

Let Her Out Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/15/let-her-out-2016-frightfest-2016/

Director’s Cut Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/15/directors-cut-2016-frightfest-2016/

Night of the Something Strange Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/16/night-of-the-something-strange-2016-frightfest-2016/

White Coffin Review: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/16/white-coffin-2016-frightfest-2016/

An Interview with Michael Borowiec and Sam Marine, directors of “Man Underground”: https://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2016/09/17/an-interview-with-michael-borowiec-and-sam-marine-directors-of-man-underground-frightfest-2016/

This year’s batch was fun and a bit crazy.  Common themes ran through a lot of the titles like cults (Blood Feast, Knucklebones, Crow, etc.), bloody goodness and nudity in the intro (The Evil in Us, Blood Feast, etc,), lots of synth wave  music (Beyond the Gates, Let Her Out, etc,), period pieces (Through the Shadow, The Similars, etc,), and more involving guilt, redemption, and insane monsters came back time and again.