Horrible Imaginings Film Festival 2016 Comedy Shorts Block: Part 2

stained-posterStained (UK) (2016)
Everything that could go wrong at tea time.  A man is encountering minor annoyances in an otherwise fine afternoon.  As he goes to the loo, once he’s done, he discovers that he is completely out of toilet paper.  As he hobbles to the corner shop to buy some, he is haunted by his poo, taunting him, threatening him with a stain.  Written by Mark A.C. Brown and directed by Phil Haine, Stained takes a basic life event, running out of t.p. and turns it on its head.  The film is funny and it’s due in big part to the leads played by Michael Shephard and Chris Spyrides who keep a straight face throughout.  Thefilm takes this situation and pushes it to its absurd limit and it works beautifully well.

Continue reading

Sinful Cinema Series: The Abductors (Volume 1) [Paperback]

sinfulcinemaCombing the landscape of obscure cinema is tricky. It’s a journey that will often leave you with a lemon if you’re not careful. Author Doug Brunell’s reasoning for the “Sinful Cinema” book series makes a lot of sense as spotlighting certain movies that not many authors out there would be willing to spotlight is a neat idea. If you’re someone who wants to visit films that are completely out of the ordinary, author Doug Brunell seems intent on delivering spotlights for films you wouldn’t normally see discussed in most books about film. Sure, you can probably find summaries and brief essays about something like “The Abductors” in a review compilation, but author Brunell devotes an entire book to it. I’ve been a fan of Brunell’s since his days on Film Threat, so it’s fun to see him releasing a series of books for film lovers old and new.

Continue reading

Hustle, Loyalty, Respect: The World of John Cena [Hardcover]

hlpjohncena

If you’re a fan of one of the most iconic wrestling stars of all time, you’re in for a big treat with “Hustle, Loyalty, Respect” from DK Books. It’s the literal encyclopedia of John Cena, chronicling everything from his early life, his childhood, and there’s even a look at the evolution of his character. Cena is one of the most dynamic and charismatic performers from the WWE, as well as one of the most charitable, and he garners a much deerved massive collectible book that provides everything you need to know about the man without marrying him. Delivered to fans in a hardcover book, fans are given a collectible wrist band with the book, and are allowed to read about everything Cena has been through in his entire sports career.

Continue reading

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost): A Memoir [Kindle]

youre-never-weird

I’ve made it no secret about loving Felicia Day in the past. And I’m more than proud admitting that I’d give away my entire Superman comic book collection for a date with Felicia Day (Sorry, Kal El, Amazonians before Kryptonians), so buying a memoir about Felicia Day’s life, and rise to fame was an easy sell for yours truly. Felicia Day, for the uninitiated is a very prominent character actress and web celebrity who has appeared in shows like “Supernatural” and “Eureka” and gained acclaim in the early aughts for her web show “The Guild,” one of the earliest web shows to every premiere online. Since then she’s been a consummate web celebrity and red haired geek Goddess, and she finally lets fans see a new side of her beyond the cameras, and convention booths. After consuming every page of “You’re Never Weird…,” I admire Ms. Day so much more now than ever.

Continue reading

Sci-fi, Super humans, and Romance. Pick Up “The Genesis Exiles” Today!

GenesisExile_cover_2

There’s nothing more harrowing than looking at a blank page that has to be filled with paragraphs and information. That’s why writing is such a feat. It takes hard work and commitment, even for people that just blog about their lives on a daily basis. To put it bluntly: I wrote a book, and I hope you buy it and enjoy it.

“The Genesis Exiles” was a long time coming, my very own universe very much in the vein of Superman and X-Men that takes two characters I fell in love with and pits them against the world. Surely it’s about two super humans fighting against the world, but it’s also about the unbreakable bonds of love, and how it can move mountains. I hope you consider buying “The Genesis Exiles” and if you do, I hope you enjoy it.

It’s on Amazon Kindle, and Smashwords; it’s action packed fun for any science fiction fan, and makes a great gift.

Thanks for reading Cinema Crazed.

Candy [Kindle Edition]

candy

Full Disclosure: While author Doug Brunell is a close friend of ours, “Candy” was purchased at our own discretion.

After reading author Doug Brunell’s bleak and gory cannibal thriller “Nothing Men,” I was literally prepared for anything with “Candy.” I’d heard almost nothing about it, and the premise online is cryptic. At only thirty three pages, “Candy” is just about what you’d expect from author Doug Brunell. He not only challenges expectations, but takes the fantasy genre and bashes its head in with a claw hammer mercilessly. That’s not a criticism, either.

Continue reading

Profoundly Erotic: Sexy Movies that Changed History [Paperback]

pebook

It’s the last book from Joe Bob Briggs, and for his final outing in the publishing world, he follows up “Profoundly Disturbing” with the equally excellent “Profoundly Erotic.” The final book reviews a series of erotic movies, all of which aren’t exactly pornographic or erotica per se. They’re instead very adult films that deal with sexual politics and the undertones of sexual repression. As usual Joe Bob Briggs is as insightful and informative as ever, and it was ultimately a breezy read to finish.

Continue reading

Everything I Know about Filmmaking I Learned Watching Seven Samurai [Paperback]

everything-i-know

Akira Kurosawa’s “Seven Samurai” is one of the most influential, if not the most influential movies ever made. It’s a masterpiece of epic cinema that not only helped usher in foreign cinema, but also displayed a talent for storytelling that went beyond the reaches of ninety minutes. Kurosawa inspired many American directors, as well as his own contemporaries to try for their own cinematic epics, and to this day, the template for “Seven Samurai” has given influence to the creation of many great films like “Galaxy Quest,” and “The Magnificent Seven.” You can feel author Richard D. Pepperman’s love for Kurosawa’s film pulsating in every page of his book.

Continue reading