Tim Burton: The Iconic Filmmaker and His Work [Hardcover]

For the respective Tim Burton enthusiast comes “Tim Burton: The Iconic Filmmaker and His Work,” a comprehensive biography and study of the master’s work by author Ian Nathan. Courtesy of Aurum Press, the book is a hardcover encyclopedia of everything Tim Burton, chronicling pretty much every film he’s ever made, from his short films in school, to his work in animation, right down to major projects like “Batman Returns” and “Dark Shadows.” Fans of Burton will be pleased to read about the interesting life Burton has led, and how he was often drawn to the Gothic and ideas about the outcasts in “normal” society.

Continue reading

Suggested Halloween Reading: 101 Movies To See…

101moviesThis Halloween from Apple Press comes Steven Jay Schneider’s ultimate compilations of “101 Movies to See” in paperback form and ready to own. For folks unfamiliar, Steven Jay Schneider is the man responsible for the 1001 Movies to See Before You Die, and he’s broken up the movies in to various genres and sub-genres of film. With a slew of contributors writing very insightful and interesting capsule reviews, Mr. Schneider edits every review breaking them up in to periods of film. Every book follows the particular points of the century from films from the 1900’s, and the 1910’s right down to the 2000’s, where the books typically end. At over four hundred pages, the “101 Movies to See…” work as small guide books that teach aspiring movies buffs where to start in particular genres, and whether or not you like or hate the specific titles the books recommend, you can at least be satisfied that you’ve seen an essential piece of cinema.

Continue reading

Phil Hall on “In Search of Lost Films”

insearchofWe at Cinema Crazed have had the pleasure of enlisting some truly gifted writers and movie fanatics, and Phil Hall is no exception. We’ve been very close friends with Phil for over ten years, and have followed his extensive work in film both far and wide. He’s worked in film festivals, helped bring very obscure cinematic gems to public attention once again, and has also garnered an immense insight in to the art of filmmaking over the years. His latest book “In Search of Lost Films” from BearManor Media explores the tragic history of how many films have been lost to time, and the rising tide of film preservation.

Continue reading

Horrible Imaginings Film Festival 2016 Comedy Shorts Block: Part 2

stained-posterStained (UK) (2016)
Everything that could go wrong at tea time.  A man is encountering minor annoyances in an otherwise fine afternoon.  As he goes to the loo, once he’s done, he discovers that he is completely out of toilet paper.  As he hobbles to the corner shop to buy some, he is haunted by his poo, taunting him, threatening him with a stain.  Written by Mark A.C. Brown and directed by Phil Haine, Stained takes a basic life event, running out of t.p. and turns it on its head.  The film is funny and it’s due in big part to the leads played by Michael Shephard and Chris Spyrides who keep a straight face throughout.  Thefilm takes this situation and pushes it to its absurd limit and it works beautifully well.

Continue reading

Sinful Cinema Series: The Abductors (Volume 1) [Paperback]

sinfulcinemaCombing the landscape of obscure cinema is tricky. It’s a journey that will often leave you with a lemon if you’re not careful. Author Doug Brunell’s reasoning for the “Sinful Cinema” book series makes a lot of sense as spotlighting certain movies that not many authors out there would be willing to spotlight is a neat idea. If you’re someone who wants to visit films that are completely out of the ordinary, author Doug Brunell seems intent on delivering spotlights for films you wouldn’t normally see discussed in most books about film. Sure, you can probably find summaries and brief essays about something like “The Abductors” in a review compilation, but author Brunell devotes an entire book to it. I’ve been a fan of Brunell’s since his days on Film Threat, so it’s fun to see him releasing a series of books for film lovers old and new.

Continue reading

Hustle, Loyalty, Respect: The World of John Cena [Hardcover]

hlpjohncena

If you’re a fan of one of the most iconic wrestling stars of all time, you’re in for a big treat with “Hustle, Loyalty, Respect” from DK Books. It’s the literal encyclopedia of John Cena, chronicling everything from his early life, his childhood, and there’s even a look at the evolution of his character. Cena is one of the most dynamic and charismatic performers from the WWE, as well as one of the most charitable, and he garners a much deerved massive collectible book that provides everything you need to know about the man without marrying him. Delivered to fans in a hardcover book, fans are given a collectible wrist band with the book, and are allowed to read about everything Cena has been through in his entire sports career.

Continue reading

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost): A Memoir [Kindle]

youre-never-weird

I’ve made it no secret about loving Felicia Day in the past. And I’m more than proud admitting that I’d give away my entire Superman comic book collection for a date with Felicia Day (Sorry, Kal El, Amazonians before Kryptonians), so buying a memoir about Felicia Day’s life, and rise to fame was an easy sell for yours truly. Felicia Day, for the uninitiated is a very prominent character actress and web celebrity who has appeared in shows like “Supernatural” and “Eureka” and gained acclaim in the early aughts for her web show “The Guild,” one of the earliest web shows to every premiere online. Since then she’s been a consummate web celebrity and red haired geek Goddess, and she finally lets fans see a new side of her beyond the cameras, and convention booths. After consuming every page of “You’re Never Weird…,” I admire Ms. Day so much more now than ever.

Continue reading

Sci-fi, Super humans, and Romance. Pick Up “The Genesis Exiles” Today!

GenesisExile_cover_2

There’s nothing more harrowing than looking at a blank page that has to be filled with paragraphs and information. That’s why writing is such a feat. It takes hard work and commitment, even for people that just blog about their lives on a daily basis. To put it bluntly: I wrote a book, and I hope you buy it and enjoy it.

“The Genesis Exiles” was a long time coming, my very own universe very much in the vein of Superman and X-Men that takes two characters I fell in love with and pits them against the world. Surely it’s about two super humans fighting against the world, but it’s also about the unbreakable bonds of love, and how it can move mountains. I hope you consider buying “The Genesis Exiles” and if you do, I hope you enjoy it.

It’s on Amazon Kindle, and Smashwords; it’s action packed fun for any science fiction fan, and makes a great gift.

Thanks for reading Cinema Crazed.