Fantasia International Film Festival 2017 Wrap-Up [Fantasia International Film Festival 2017]

This year was a huge year for myself in terms of coverage I was able to do at Fantasia. Having moved back to Montreal (albeit temporarily), I was able to see a huge number of films at the fest, which led to an average of 2 films per day most days with just a few days off to recharge. 2 films per day may not seem like a lot, but when you factor in the reviews being written to publish as soon as possible and networking every night after the fest, the best festival of the year for this reviewer becomes the most exhausting. Your schedule shifts to live between 12noon and 4am most days, waking up then writing reviews, sending reviews, going to the fest in the afternoon or at night, then to the official pub to meet with filmmakers, reviewers, staff, and fans, then bed at 4am-ish most days, the schedule takes a toll. Kudos to the staff of the fest who are up all day working, then all evening and part of the night before doing it all over again the next day, this for 21 days. I know I could never do that for that long. Even with a few full days off to handle life and try to survive, it was an exhausting yet exhilarating experience to be able to be there from the programme launch the week before the fest to post fest goodness with friends.

That being said, we at Cinema Crazed tried to give you the best coverage we could with just 3 of us working on the fest in different capacities. You saw tons of reviews here and can see photos (coming soon) on my Facebook photo page (www.facebook.com/emybphoto) as well as on Instagram (@emybphoto).

I have tried to get as much goodness as my schedule and capacities allowed. Here you can find all my reviews as well as Felix’s pieces and Jeremy’s contributions.

Emilie Black reviews and interview (more to come once we have had time to breath and nap):
A Ghost Story: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/16/a-ghost-story-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable – Chapter 1: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/16/jojos-bizarre-adventure-diamond-in-unbreakable-chapter-1-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Boyka: Undisputed: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/16/boyka-undisputed-2016-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Museum: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/16/museum-myujiamu-2016-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Spectrum Fest: Films from the Autism Spectrum: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/17/spectrum-fest-films-from-the-autism-spectrum-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Mohawk: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/20/mohawk-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Bad Genius: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/20/bad-genius-chalard-games-goeng-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Replace: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/21/replace-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Wu Kong: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/24/wu-kong-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Bitch: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/24/bitch-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Born of Women 2017: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/25/born-of-woman-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival/
Cold Hell: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/25/cold-hell-die-holle-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Napping Princess: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/25/napping-princess-hirune-hime-shiranai-watashi-no-monogatari-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Atomic Blonde: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/26/atomic-blonde-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Sequence Break: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/26/sequence-break-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Ron Goossens, Low-Budget Stuntman: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/26/ron-goossens-low-budget-stuntman-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Poor Agnes: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/26/poor-agnes-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
King Cohen: The Wild World of Filmmaker Larry Cohen: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/28/king-cohen-the-wild-world-of-filmmaker-larry-cohen-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Karmina: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/28/karmina-1996-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Short Films of Izzy Lee: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/30/the-short-films-of-izzy-lee-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
You Only Live Once: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/30/you-only-live-once-solo-se-vive-una-vez-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
M.F.A.: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/30/m-f-a-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival/
68 Kill: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/01/68-kill-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Mayhem: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/01/mayhem-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival/
Bushwick: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/01/bushwick-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival/
Dead Man Tells His Own Tale: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/02/dead-man-tells-his-own-tale-el-muerto-cuenta-su-historia-2016-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Jailbreak: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/02/jailbreak-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Le Serpent aux milles coupures: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/02/le-serpent-aux-mille-coupures-thousand-cuts-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Overdrive: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/10/overdrive-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Blade of the Immortal: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/05/blade-of-the-immortal-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Night Watchmen: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/05/the-night-watchmen-usa-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Prey: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/05/prey-prooi-2016-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Endless: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/05/the-endless-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
It’s Alive: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/06/its-alive-1974-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Savage Dog: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/06/savage-dog-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Shorts of Fantasia International Film Festival 2017 – Part 1: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/07/the-shorts-of-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017-part-1-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Shorts of Fantasia International Film Festival 2017 – Part 2: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/08/the-shorts-of-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017-part-2-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Shorts of Fantasia International Film Festival 2017 – Part 3: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/09/the-shorts-of-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017-part-3-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Broken Sword Hero: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/07/broken-sword-hero-thong-dee-fun-khao-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Vampire Cleanup Department: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/07/vampire-cleanup-department-gao-geung-jing-dou-fu-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
An Interview with Director Eric Valette: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/09/an-interview-with-director-eric-valette-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/

Felix Vasquez:
Tilt: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/14/tilt-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Undress Me: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/16/undress-me-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Death Line (Raw Meat): http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/20/death-line-raw-meat-1972-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Dead Shack: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/22/dead-shack-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Better Watch Out: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/28/better-watch-out-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
The Night Watchmen: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/02/the-night-watchmen-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Tragedy Girls: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/03/tragedy-girls-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
78/52: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/03/7852-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/

Jeremy Knox:
Suspiria, The Exorcist II, and Story: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/14/suspiria-the-exorcist-ii-and-story-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/
Adventures In Fantasia: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/07/14/adventures-in-fantasia/
Small Gauge Trauma 2017: http://cinema-crazed.com/blog/2017/08/02/small-gauge-trauma-2017-fantasia-international-film-festival-2017/

As always, we all had a ton of fun with Fantasia and can’t wait for next year’s edition. For my part, I won’t be there for the full 3 weeks so my coverage will be more limited. I do still hope to get to see a bunch of stellar films. See you in 2018 at the fest and at the pub!